Every figure verified 6 September 2026

Instagram DM Automation Tools Compared

Eight competitors and us, on the things that decide the bill: what the free plan really includes, whether the follow gate is real, and whether your invoice grows when a Reel takes off.

No credit card requiredSetup in 30 secondsMeta-compliant

Nine Instagram DM tools, side by side

Every cell read off the vendor’s own page on 6 September 2026, and linked in the first column. Re-checked monthly. Nothing here comes from a review site.

Instagram DM automation tools compared on free plan, follow gate availability, follow gate verification, billing model, paid entry price and Facebook Page requirement. Verified 6 September 2026.
ToolFree planFollow gate on the free plan?Follow gate verified?Billing modelPaid entry priceFacebook Page required?
tadlo.aitadlo.ai/pricingUnlimited DMs and unlimited automations, ₹0 forever, no card. Delivery is paced within safe sending limits.YesYes — is_user_follow_business, read live from Meta’s Instagram APIFlat monthly. Never per contact.₹249/mo (about $5/mo)No — Instagram Login only
Reachookreachook.com/dm-automation, reachook.com/pricing1 active automation, 1,000 DMs/month, 250 CRM contacts.Not stated on any vendor pageYes — vendor states a real-time Graph API checkFlat. “Your bill never grows because a post went viral.”$10/mo (Pro), $7/mo billed annuallyNot stated
LinkPleaselinkplease.co, linkplease.co/pricing1,000 DMs/month, 1,000 contacts, unlimited automations.No — “Ask for follow” starts on ProNo wording either wayFlat, per Instagram account.₹399/mo (Pro)Not stated
ReplyRushreplyrush.com/pricing1,500 DMs/month, 1 Instagram + 1 Facebook account, 30-day data retention.No — “Follow Gated DM” is paid-tierNo wording either wayFlat monthly.$10/mo (Lite)Not stated
InstantDMinstantdm.com, instantdm.com/pricingTheir pages disagree as of 6 Sep 2026: the homepage advertises 500 credits/month, the pricing page shows no free plan.No — “Follow for Link” is on both paid tiersSays it “checks if a user follows you”; never names an APIFlat monthly.$9.99/mo (Legend Pro)Not stated
Elev8orelev8or.io/autodm, elev8or.io/engage/pricingUnlimited contacts, 1 social account. No DM figure stated anywhere.Their pages disagree as of 6 Sep 2026 — the feature page says free, the pricing page lists it on no tierNo wording for the gate itselfFlat monthly, quoted billed-annually.$12/mo (Pro, billed annually)Not stated
ChatAutoDMchatautodm.com/pricing1,000 monthly contacts, unlimited flows, 10,000 AI credits.Their own pricing page disagrees with itself as of 6 Sep 2026 — “Ask to Follow” is in the free column and described as Pro-onlyNo wording either wayNot stated₹499/mo (Pro)Not stated
LinkDMlinkdm.com, linkdm.com/pricing1 Instagram account, up to 1,000 DMs/month, “no core feature limits”.No follow gate found on any vendor pageFlat monthly or yearly.$19/mo (Pro)Yes — stated by the vendor
Inroinro.social/pricing100 active contacts per month, 3 active scenarios, 3 campaigns.No follow gate found on any vendor pagePer active contact — “only pay for what you use”.€12.99/mo (Pro)Not stated

Competitor names and figures are the property of their respective owners and are reproduced here for comparison. Scroll the table sideways to see every column.

How this table was built, and what is missing from it

Every figure above was read off the vendor’s own page on 6 September 2026. Search engines were used only to find official domains. Review sites and competitors’ comparison posts carried numbers for all nine tools, and none of them were used — a price on a review site is a price someone typed once, and comparison pages are the single worst place on the internet for out-of-date figures.

Where a vendor does not state something, the cell says “not stated”. That is a real answer. Half of these tools never mention whether a Facebook Page is required, which is itself worth knowing before you sign up.

ManyChat is the largest tool in this category and it is not in the table. Their pricing page, their homepage and their help-centre pricing article all returned 403 to an automated request on 6 September 2026, so we could not read a figure first-hand. Published numbers for ManyChat are easy to find and we are not going to repeat one we cannot verify. When their pricing becomes readable, the row goes in.

We re-check every source on this page monthly. If you find a stale cell, it is a bug and we would like to hear about it.

Every follow gate here costs money. One doesn’t.

A follow gate holds your link back until the person asking for it follows you. It is the single most requested automation in the category, and it is the clearest line in the table.

LinkPlease puts it on Pro. ReplyRush puts it on paid tiers. InstantDM puts it on both paid tiers and has no free tier on its pricing page at all. LinkDM and Inro do not appear to offer one. Tadlo’s is on the free plan, and it is verified.

Verified means Tadlo asks Meta whether the follow actually happened, using is_user_follow_business, rather than trusting a tap on an “I’m following” button. How that works, and what the measured difference is, is on the follow gate page.

Read the free-plan column together with the gate column. A generous DM allowance with the gate locked behind a paid tier is a different product from a smaller allowance with the gate included. Both are legitimate; they are just not the same offer, and a table that only showed DM counts would hide that.

Reachook built this properly, and deserves the credit

Reachook is the one competitor here that verifies the follow rather than asking for it, and they document it plainly. In their words, the automation “asks for a follow first — verified through the Graph API before the payload is released”, and elsewhere: they make “a real-time query to Meta’s Graph API to check their follower status”.

That is the same idea Tadlo implements, described accurately. We have not been able to determine which of their plans includes it, which is why that cell says so rather than guessing.

We are pointing this out because a page arguing that the category is loose with the word “verified”, which then quietly omitted the one competitor doing it properly, would be doing the exact thing it complains about. If you are choosing between us and Reachook on this feature alone, you are choosing between two tools that both do it — compare on price, on whether the gate is on the free tier, and on the Facebook Page question instead.

LinkDM says the quiet part out loud: you need a Facebook Page

Most tools in this category are built on the older Page-linked Instagram Graph API, and most of them do not mention it until you are halfway through signup. LinkDM does mention it, in their own documentation: “The Instagram API requires users to login with Facebook and to attach both their Instagram and connected Facebook page”.

That sentence is accurate about the API they use, and they deserve credit for stating it plainly where most of their competitors leave it out. It is also a genuine obstacle: a creator who has never had a Facebook Page has to create one, keep it, and link it, purely so a DM tool can reach their Instagram account.

Tadlo connects through Instagram Business Login instead, so an Instagram Business or Creator account is the whole prerequisite. The permissions that involves are listed on the Meta approval page. Six of the nine tools here never say either way, which is why that column has so many blanks.

Inro bills per contact, and is straightforward about it

Inro’s free plan is 100 active contacts per month, and their pricing model is stated on the page as “only pay for what you use”, with the quota resetting monthly. Pro starts at €12.99/mo for 500+ active contacts.

Per-contact billing is honest and it suits steady, predictable volume. It has one specific failure mode: the month a Reel performs. The post that justifies having a DM tool at all is the post that moves you up a tier, so your best month and your most expensive month are the same month, and you find out afterwards.

Tadlo bills a flat monthly price with no per-contact component, which means a viral post changes your reach and not your invoice. Reachook makes the same point about their own pricing, and they are right to. This is a real trade-off, not a defect in Inro. If your volume is flat and low, paying for 100 contacts may genuinely cost you less than any flat plan.

Three vendors currently contradict themselves

While checking sources for this page we found three tools whose own pages disagree with each other, as of 6 September 2026:

  • Elev8or — the AutoDM feature page says follow-gates are included with the free plan; the pricing page does not list a follow gate on any tier.
  • ChatAutoDM — on a single pricing page, “Ask to Follow” appears in the free plan’s feature list and is also described as a Pro and Elite feature.
  • InstantDM — the homepage advertises a free plan of 500 credits a month; the pricing page shows only two paid tiers and no free plan.

None of this is evidence of bad faith. Pricing pages drift out of sync with feature pages at every company, ours included, and any of these could be corrected by the time you read this. We are recording what the pages said on the date stamped above, and nothing more. If you are evaluating one of these three, the safe move is to ask them directly and get the answer in writing.

Where this page sits, and where to go next

This is the overview: nine tools, seven columns, one screen. It deliberately does not go deep on any single competitor. For that, each head-to-head comparison takes one tool and works through features, pricing tiers and migration in detail.

Use this page to narrow the field, then the head-to-head for the two or three you are actually choosing between. If the tool you want is not here, it is because we could not read its pricing from its own site, and we would rather leave a gap than fill it with a number we cannot stand behind.

10,000+

Creators using Tadlo

2M+

DMs Automated

120K+

Leads Generated

Real Results, Real Users

Before

“I was missing DMs and losing clients every single day.”

After

“Now I get 20–30 leads weekly on autopilot. Tadlo changed everything.”

+200 leads/month
S

Sarah Chen

Fashion Creator

Before

“Replying to every comment and DM was eating up 4+ hours daily.”

After

“Automated all my replies. Engagement went up 3x and I got my life back.”

3x engagement
M

Marcus Johnson

Fitness Coach

Before

“Managing 8 client accounts manually was unsustainable.”

After

“Now all accounts run automated. We saved 20+ hours a week.”

20h/week saved
P

Priya Sharma

Agency Owner

Questions? We've Got Answers.

Which Instagram DM tools include a follow gate on the free plan?

Of the nine tools compared here, Tadlo is the only one we could confirm includes a verified follow gate on its free plan. LinkPlease, ReplyRush and InstantDM place theirs behind paid tiers. Elev8or and ChatAutoDM have pages that disagree with each other. LinkDM and Inro do not appear to offer one.

What does a “verified” follow gate actually mean?

It means the tool asks Instagram whether the follow happened, instead of trusting someone who tapped a button saying they followed. Tadlo reads is_user_follow_business from Meta's Instagram API. Reachook states it makes a real-time Graph API query for the same purpose. The other tools here describe asking, not checking.

Why is ManyChat not in the comparison table?

Because we could not read their pricing first-hand. Their pricing page, homepage and help-centre pricing article each returned an HTTP 403 error to an automated request on 6 September 2026. Figures for ManyChat are widely published elsewhere, and we are not willing to reprint one we have not verified ourselves.

Do I need a Facebook Page for Instagram DM automation?

It depends entirely on which API the tool uses. LinkDM states in its own documentation that the Instagram API it uses requires attaching a connected Facebook page. Tadlo uses Instagram Business Login, so no Facebook Page is needed. Most other tools here do not state either way.

What is the difference between flat and per-contact billing?

Flat billing charges the same amount regardless of volume. Per-contact billing, which Inro uses, charges by how many people your automations talk to each month. Per-contact suits steady low volume, but the month a post performs unusually well is also the month your bill increases.

How current are the prices in this table?

Every competitor figure was read off that vendor's own page on 6 September 2026, and each row links to the exact pages used. We re-check them monthly. Prices in this category change often, so treat the stamp as the guarantee rather than the number, and click through before deciding.

Is Tadlo's free plan really unlimited?

Yes. Unlimited DMs and unlimited automations at no cost, with no monthly quota, no per-contact billing and no card required. Delivery is paced within safe sending limits to protect your account, which is an account-safety measure rather than a plan restriction, and it applies on paid plans too.

Why do some cells just say “not stated”?

Because the vendor does not answer that question anywhere on their own site, and we will not fill the gap from a review site or an educated guess. A blank cell tells you something real: six of these nine tools never say whether a Facebook Page is required before you have signed up.

You might also like

Put your Instagram on autopilot — it's free

No credit card requiredSetup in 30 secondsMeta-compliant